How FUFA Competition Rules Handed Vipers SC League Title

May 21, 2020

By Hanghasa Rogers

Basing on Article (18), subsection(2) of the FUFA Competition Rules, Federation of Uganda Football Association (FUFA) crowned Vipers SC as the new champions of the 2019-2020 Uganda Premier League.

According to Art.18,(2) of the FUFA Act, if there is an emergency and 75% of the season matches have been played, then FUFA has the right to declare the champion of the season and also eliminate the last three clubs to Big League.
Its upon this rule, that the FUFA board based on yesterday to declare Vipers SC as the new champions of Uganda Premier League of 2019-2020 season.
Vipers SC were on top of UPL table with 54points ahead of the defending champions, KCCA FC who had 50 points.
Eng. Moses Magogo, the FUFA President while at the FUFA house in Mengo declared Vipers SC as the club to represent Uganda in CAF champions league next season.
Uganda Premier League Champions, Vipers SC
According to him KCCA FC will represent Uganda in the Confederations cup having finished second in the league.
Normally it’s the winner of the Uganda Cup who represent the country in the Confederations Cup, But due to the COVID19 pandemic the Uganda Cup was cancelled and KCCA FC got the chance as the FUFA rules states.
The last three clubs on the table; Proline FC, Maroons FC and Tooro United were automatically demoted to the FUFA Big League and three teams from the Big League will be promoted to Uganda Premier League.
However, upon the elimination of the last three clubs in the Uganda Premier League, three clubs will be promoted from the Big League. These include, UPDF FC, Mider FC and the third will have to go through playoffs. Four teams will have to go for playoffs to get the third team to qualify for UPL are; Kiboga Young FC, Kataka FC, Ndeje FC and Kitara FC .
Due to COVID19 crisis FUFA cancelled the other lower leagues; Regional League, Junior League and the women League Cup.