2020 University Football League Group Stage Draw Conducted, Tournament Expanded

February 4, 2020

The group draw for 9th edition of the University Football League has been conducted today at Kati Kati Restaurant, Lugogo.

This year’s tournament has expanded from 16 to 20 teams.

Teams have been drawn in five groups. The top team in each group will progress to the quarterfinals and will be joined by three best second placed teams.

The tournament will kick off  this Friday, February 7th until November.

The new universities to take part in the tournament include; Muni University, Kabale University, University of Kisubi.

Uganda Christian University are the defending champions having defeated  St. Lawrence 2-1 in 2019 final held at StarTimes Stadium, Lugogo.

2020 University Football League Group Stage Draw:

Group A

• Kabale University
• Mbarara University of Science & Technology (MUST)
• Kyambogo University
• University of Kisubi

Group B

• Islamic University In Uganda (IUIU)
• Kumi University
• Uganda Christian University (UCU)
• Kampala International University (KIU)

Group C

• Uganda Matyrs University (UMU)
• Busitema University
• Kampala University (KU)
• International University of East Africa (IUEA)

Group D

• St.Lawrence University (SLAU)
• Bishop Stuart University
• Makerere University Business School (MUBS)

Group E

• Bugema University
• Muni University
• Gulu University
• Nkumba University