Uganda Government approves the adoption of Swahili as an official language.

July 7, 2022

Uganda has adopted Kiswahili as an official language.

Chris Baryomunsi, Minister of Information Communication Technology and National Guidance told reporters that the cabinet on approved the implementation of a directive by the 21st East African Community (EAC) Summit that the language be adopted as an official language of the community.

Uganda now has two official languages, English and Kiswahili.

EAC brings together seven member countries including Uganda, Tanzania, Kenya, Rwanda, Burundi, South Sudan and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Baryomunsi said the Cabinet also directed that the teaching of the language in primary and secondary schools should be made compulsory and examinable.